April 17, 2024
P.O.Box 613ER Gombilla House, Lamashegu Market, Tamale, Northern Region

Djiku wins big at 2022 Ghana Football Awards

Alexander Djiku was named the Footballer of the Year at the 2022 Ghana Football Awards.

The France-based player came out tops ahead of his fellow Black Stars players, Joojo Wollacott, Daniel Amartey, Thomas Partey and Southampton defender, Mohammed Salisu.

Djiku helped Strasbourg finish 6th on the Ligue 1 and he was a key part of Ghana’s qualification to the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

In his acceptance video, he thanked his team mates at Strasbourg and the Black Stars for their support.

Grace Asantewaa of Real Betis was named the Female Footballer of the Year while the Female Team of the Year was Ampem Darkoa Ladies for winning the Women’s Premier League and the Women’s FA Cup.

Ampem Darkoa’s head coach, Joe Nana Adarkwa, was named the Female Coach of the Year.

Kotoko head coach, Dr. Prosper Narteh Ogum, picked up the coach of the year for guiding the Porcupine Warriors to the 21/22 Ghana Premier League trophy.

The Reds picked up more awards on the night as their CEO, Nana Yaw Amponsah, was adjudged the best CEO in the country for the second straight year.

They also won the Male Team of the Year edging out the likes of Samartex, and FA Cup finalists, Bechem United.

The team’s supporter group, Porcupine Tertiary, was named the Special Fan of the Year while the team’s efforts on social media have them the Most Vibrant Club on Social Media gong.

AshGold’s Yaw Annor was handed the Goal King and the Best Local Player awards.

Meshack Asante’s wonderful solo individual effort against MPP at the Accra Sports Stadium was chosen as the Best Goal of the season.

Former Black Stars captain, Abedi “Pele” Ayew was given the Living Legend award for his contribution to Ghana football.

The award was taken on his behalf by Rev. Adika, the man who discovered Ayew in 1975 and gave him the opportunity to show his talents to Ghana and the world.

Rev. Adika (right) discovered Abedi Ayew in 1975

Felix Afena Gyan was named the Nii Odartey Lamptey Rising Star award and Alex Djiku was Foreign Based Player of the Year.

The awards were held at the Grand Arena of the Accra International Conference Centre and it was celebrate the success of the local game across the previous season.

The event was attended by high profile personalities in sports, music, cinema, fashion and business such as former Black Stars players, C.K Akonnor, Laryea Kingston, Asamoah Gyan, and Tony Baffoe, Beverly Afaglo, Elikem Kumordzi, Akosua Agyapong and Akofa Agyeani.

Full list of award winners:

Footballer of the Year- Alexander Djiku

Joe Nana Adarkwa- Ampem Darkoa Ladies (Women’s Coach of the Year)

Dr. Prosper Nartey Ogum (Men’s Coach of the Year)

Richard Nsenkyere of Samartex and Tom Vernon- Right To Dream (Thumbs Up Award)

Abedi “Pele” Ayew- Living Legend Award

Ampem Darkoa Ladies- Female Team of the Year

Asante Kotoko- Male Team of the Year

Porcupine Tertiary- Special Fan Of The Year

Nana Yaw Amponsah- Asante Kotoko (CEO of the Year)

Sadio Mane- Best African International

Iddrisu Abdulai- Goalkeeper of the Year

Asante Kotoko- Most Vibrant Award on Social Media

Grace Asantewaa- Real Betis (Female Footballer of the Year)

Yaw Annor- Best Home-based Player of the Year

Meshack Asante (Golden Kicks) Goal vs MPP- Goal of the Year

Yaw Annor- Goal King

Felix Afena Gyan- Nii Odartey Lamptey Rising Star award

Alex Djiku- Foreign-based Player of the Year

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
  • Price
  • Service


Add Field


Add Field
Choose Image
Choose Video

Radio Tamale WhatsApp Chat

× Chat?