June 18, 2024
P.O.Box 613ER Gombilla House, Lamashegu Market, Tamale, Northern Region

Salim Abubakari re-elected Sagnarigu Presiding Member with overwhelming endorsement by members

Assembly Members of the Sagnarigu Municipal Assembly in the northern region have overwhelmingly re-elected the assembly member for Ward K electoral area, Mr Salim Abubakari as the Presiding Member of the assembly. Hon. Salim Abubakar, who contested unopposed, was put to a yes or no vote which he won with 31 yes votes against zero no votes.  

The Sagnarigu Municipal Assembly has 36 members including the two Members of Parliament for Sagnarigu and Tamale North constituencies but the two MPs have no voting rights.  

Three members of were absent during the voting process. Consequently, he polled 31 votes out of the 31 valid votes cast and was sworn into office by his Lordship Yussif Amadu of the Tamale Magistrate court in the assembly hall.

In his victory speech, Mr Salim Abubakari thanked the assembly members for reposing confidence in him and promised to operate an open door policy. He also thanked chiefs in the municipality led by the revered Sagnarigu Naa, Naa Ambassador Yakubu Abdulai for supporting his bid for re-election.

He further commended the Sagnarigu Municipal Chief Executive, Mr. Yakubu Ahmed Mohammed for supporting his re-election bid and promised to work closely with to bring Development to the municipality.

Nyeb Sagnarigu Naa, Ambassador Yakubu Abdulai, who was represented by a sub-chief, commended the assembly members for re-electing the presiding member in a cordial atmosphere devoid of rancour and acrimony. He enjoined residents of the municipality to embrace peace and stressed that peace was requisite for development. He urged the presiding member to be diligent in his work and consult broadly when taking decisions.

Who is Presiding Member?

The Presiding Member is the head of the General Assembly whilst the Municipal Chief Executive is both the political and Administrative head of the Municipality. The Assembly is expected to hold at least 3 ordinary meetings in a session.

Sagnarigu Municipal District 

Sagnarigu Municipal District is one of the sixteen districts in Northern Region, Ghana. Originally it was formerly part of the then-larger Tamale Municipal District in 1988, which was created from the former West Dagomba District Council, until a small northern part of the district was split off to create Sagnarigu District on 24 June 2012; thus the remaining part has been retained as Tamale Metropolitan District (which it was elevated to metropolitan district assembly status in August 2004).

However, on 15 March 2018, it was elevated to municipal district assembly status to become Sagnarigu Municipal District. The municipality is located in the northwest part of Northern Region and has Sagnarigu as its capital city, which is also the capital city of the Northern Region.

Support Us at Radio Tamale by following Us on facebook Radio Tamale 91.7

Contact our newsroom on: WhatsApp (+233 245238248) or email: radiotamale100@gmail.com

Story by Ibrahim Angaangmeni Alhassan/radiotamaleonline.com

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
  • Price
  • Service


Add Field


Add Field
Choose Image
Choose Video

Radio Tamale WhatsApp Chat

× Chat?